Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
ETLB Squawk Forums    Building and Flying Related Boards    miniMax, Hi-Max, and AirBike General Discussions  ›  aluminum 6061 or 2024 Moderators: Administrator Group
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 16 Guests

aluminum 6061 or 2024  This thread currently has 832 views. Print
2 Pages 1 2 » Recommend Thread
dbaker
April 28, 2017, 12:13am Report to Moderator
Fledgling Member
Time Online: 4 hours 54 minutes
Plans for the tandem Airbike call for the root and strut fittings to be made from aluminum bar 3/16 by 3/4 from 2024 T4.  I already have 3/16 by one inch wide 6061 T6511.  Would that be an acceptable substitute?
Logged Offline
Private Message
flydog
April 28, 2017, 12:29am Report to Moderator
Ace
Time Online: 50 days 38 minutes
I'm not an engineer so I cant say if its acceptable, I can say it will be weaker. What will the correct material cost you? What will the wrong material cost you?
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 1 - 34
lowandslow
April 28, 2017, 3:34am Report to Moderator

Wing Man
Time Online: 19 hours 19 minutes
I wouldn't - I'm having trouble finding my spec book and internet searches aren't giving me exactly what I'm looking for but it appears the heat treat you have for the 2024 isn't near as strong as the 6061.  There are other properties as well that make the 2024 a better choice as well.  So, without knowing the loads and what the designer had in mind - I'd go with what he specified in a part this critical to my wife's happiness - she hates insurance companies.

Building an AeroMax
My build log is available at http://www.mykitlog.com/lowandslow/
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 2 - 34
Tom
April 28, 2017, 12:00pm Report to Moderator
Ace
Time Online: 16 days 10 hours 21 minutes
I wouldn't substitute one alloy for another.  Characteristics vary widely between alloys.  The right stuff isn't going to cost that much.

Tom
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 3 - 34
Bob Daly