Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
ETLB Squawk Forums    Building and Flying Related Boards    miniMax, Hi-Max, and AirBike General Discussions  ›  Half span aileron? Moderators: Administrator Group
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 10 Guests

Half span aileron?  This thread currently has 403 views. Print
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
tdweide
October 1, 2019, 6:23pm Report to Moderator

Fledgling Member
Time Online: 12 hours 44 minutes
Has anyone on here seen or used half span aileron similar to legal eagle?
Logged Offline
Private Message
PUFF
October 2, 2019, 11:22am Report to Moderator

Ace
Time Online: 34 days 6 hours 18 minutes
Why?
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 1 - 11
tdweide
October 2, 2019, 4:01pm Report to Moderator

Fledgling Member
Minimize adverse yaw and save weight
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 2 - 11
tdweide
October 2, 2019, 4:16pm Report to Moderator

Fledgling Member
Im no aeronotical engineer and the max is a proven design but to me with full span ailerons moving the same amount creates more drag in some spots on the wing than it would lift adding to adverse yaw. Say like pulling flaps on the rising wing every time you bank essentially. One could argue that the opposite aileron deflects the same amount and offsets the adverse yaw however that wing recieves reflex which decreases drag. Not increases it. Further adding to the same issue. Ive never flown one but im guessing the minimax suffers adverse yaw more than normal and probably requires a lot of rudder input to counteract.

That and i could finish my wings faster! and have a lighter aeroplane! Or could split the aileron and actually have a functional flap. Tho that is a bit way over kill im sure and heavier and adds to my build time... no thanks!
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 3 - 11
Max SSDR
October 2, 2019, 4:56pm Report to Moderator
If it flies, floats or fornicates.... rent it!
Flight Leader
Time Online: 3 days 18 hours 44 minutes