Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
ETLB Squawk Forums    Building and Flying Related Boards    miniMax, Hi-Max, and AirBike General Discussions  ›  Fuel system - use of choke / primer Moderators: Administrator Group
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 11 Guests

Fuel system - use of choke / primer  This thread currently has 160 views. Print
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
Keith103
August 25, 2018, 6:08pm Report to Moderator

Ace
Time Online: 13 days 6 hours 31 minutes
Quoted from The Termite
Will it have electric start?  If it has electric start, then you shouldn't need a primer system,  just a choke or enrichment circuit. I have no problem starting my 503 in the winter, the enrichment circuit / choke does the trick.

I am not an expert in fuel system, but from what I have read, the primer system provides a rich supply of fuel / fuel vapors at inlet manifold for just the first few seconds when engine cranks. After the first few cranks this supply is totally gone. Assuming the engine fires within the first few cranks, the engine still takes about a minute or two to warm up, and till engine reaches operating temperature, we still need the carb to ship choke-enriched fuel into the cylinders.

Between the two,  the choke has a more useful and more substantive role than the primer. Also, how widely is the primer system used ? Is it just a neat trick the home-builders have perfected, or is it more widely used in other applications like 2 cycle motor cycles etc ? I don't know, I am just asking.
Private Message
radfordc
August 25, 2018, 8:27pm Report to Moderator

Ace
Time Online: 18 days 1 hours