Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
ETLB Squawk Forums    Building and Flying Related Boards    miniMax, Hi-Max, and AirBike General Discussions  ›  EROS airfoil ordinates Moderators: Administrator Group
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 14 Guests

EROS airfoil ordinates  This thread currently has 4,006 views. Print
2 Pages 1 2 » Recommend Thread
RedBird
January 21, 2008, 7:15am Report to Moderator

Ace
Time Online: 15 days 15 hours 4 minutes
I justed wasted an hour carefully tracing the rib drawing only to discover that the dimensions that are supposed to be held closely are pretty far off in the printed plans, and the bottom rib is not nearly a straight line. I am sure many of you have had similar experience... At this point I'd just as soon manually draw the airfoil from the numbers (I have no CAD experience or access). Unfortunately, I am not sure where to find them. I searched past posts, but no luck. (I am not confident I am getting access to everything I should be - pilot error most likely.)

Does anybody have an excel/ascii/word file of the airfoil ordinates (for the EROS). I'm sure I can come closer by hand than the reprinted plans offer... Thanks!

Tony

Why focus on proving how great you are, when you could focus on becoming better?...
Logged Offline
Private Message
Randy lewis
January 22, 2008, 5:25pm Report to Moderator

Ace
Time Online: 21 days 18 hours 20 minutes
Tony,  A lot of us had this problem.  What I did was start with a straight line on a large sheet of paper, mark off all the fixed points from the plans.  I then had photocopys made of the rib drawing, cut them up and pieced them together on my new layout.  It should come out close with all the critical points where they need to be.  Then just adjust the top curve to a smooth curve that estimates the original.  As long as all your ribs are the same and your spars are in the correct place it will be fine.
Logged Offline
Private Message Reply: 1 - 47
Pilotpeat